Defending champions, PUBC keeping pace with early pace setters in SSPL 2018/19

CYBERJAYA (22 December 2018): Defending champions, Puchong United Badminton Club (PUBC) kept pace with the other early season pacesetters, Ampang Jaya Badminton Club (AJBC), Kepong Badminton Club (Kepong BC) and Bukit Mertajam All Stars Badminton Club (BMASBC) with an emphatic 13-8 victory over Tebrau City Badminton Club (TCBC) on Day 2 Stage 1 at the Gem In Mall, Cyberjaya today.

Having seen AJBC achieve a 10-9 win over Petaling Badminton Club (Petaling BC) yesterday and BMASBC’s 10-8 result against Bandar Maharani Badminton Club (BMBC) earlier in the afternoon, PUBC provided the perfect response with a commanding display to put them in the driving seat, losing only once from a total of five matches in the tie.

Seasoned stalwart, Goh Giap Chin, who was instrumental in Petaling Jaya Badminton Club’s  championship win in 2016/17, showed that he is still a force to be reckoned with a 3-1 (11-6, 9-11, 11-10, 11-10) victory over rising star, Ye Binghong from China.

When met after his warm down, Giap Chin was a relieved man as he managed to overcome his opponent who is younger by four years despite having only three days to train.

“I was really nervous as I had only three days to prepare and on the fourth day I am up against a formidable opponent.

“(Binghong) is an up and coming star in the Chinese badminton team and has previously upset Tommy Sugiarto (Indonesia) and pushed Chen Long to three sets.

“But my team gave me the confidence to pull through and I would like to thank all my team mates for their support,” added the 25 year old who turned independent three years ago.

Ho Yen Mei then followed up with another point from the women’s singles with a win against local compatriot, Lee Ying Ying, 3-2 (8-11, 11-7, 11-5, 9-11, 2-1) after the 30 minute time limit buzzer was sounded.

Men’s doubles, Tan Boon Heong-Teo Ee Yi extended the PUBC’s lead to 9-5 after a 3-2 win over Lim Zhen Ting-Ng Eng Cheong.

Their only blip came in the mixed doubles when Malaysia-Hong Kong pairing, Lim Khim Wah-Ng Tsz Yau lost 1-3 (8-11 11-9 6-11 9-11) to Low Hang Yee-Soong Fie Cho.

Hong Kong shuttler, Lee Cheuk Yiu brought a satisfying end to the day for the defending champions with an easy 3-0 (11-9, 11-6, 11-5) win over Fikri Ihsandi Hadmadi from Indonesia.

PUBC are aiming to become the first team to retain the SSPL since Muar City BC in 2014/15 & 2015/16.

Earlier, in the tie against newcomers, BMBC, BMASBC secured their points through Subajya Riyanto (men’s singles), Kong Yi Jin (women’s singles) and French shuttler, Lucas Corvee.

Rounding off the ties, runners up, Kepong BC delivered a statement of intent with a resounding 15-6 thumping of Serdang Badminton Club (SBC).

Last year’s finalists, who lost 8-10 to PUBC in the finale, won all of their matches through Nuraidil Adha Muhd Azman (men’s singles), Jhih Yun Lin (women’s singles), Mohd Arif Ab Latif-Po Han Yang (men’s doubles), Mohd Azriyn Nur Ayub-Wing Yung Ng (mixed doubles) and men’s singles, Soong Joo Ven.