Petaling BC make amends with first victory on Day 3 SS PL 2018/19

CYBERJAYA (23 December 2018): Petaling Badminton Club (Petaling BC) bounced back from a narrow loss on the opening day to notch their first victory, 15-4 against Bandar Maharani Badminton Club (BMBC) in the SS Purple League 2018/19, held in Gem In Mall, Cyberjaya tonight.

Leading the way, national shuttler, Cheam June Wei, who defeated Teh Jia Heng 3-0 (11-7 11-8 11-5) in 23 minutes.

Lim Yin Fun then continued the assault with a 3-1 (11-6, 11-7, 3-11, 11-6) over local compatriot, Yap Rui Chen in the women’s singles.

Aaron Chia-Man Wei Chong kept the foot on the pedal with a 3-1 (11-6, 11-9, 9-11, 11-6) victory over Ooi Jhy Dar-Yap Roy King for a 9-2 lead at the halfway point.

Singapore-Australian mixed doubles pairing, Danny Bawa Chrisnanta-Gronya Somerville had to overcome a slight resistance in the third game from local pair, Mohd Razlan Shah Mohd Ridzuan Shah-Yap Yee before emerging victorious, 3-1 (11-7, 11-8, 9-11, 11-8).

“It was a good match, we were more ready and excited compared to our previous match. In the last match, we started slow but this time we were up and running from the start.

“In the third game, we had problems getting used to the drift but we managed to get back on track in the fourth game,” said Gronya after the match.

National player, Iskandar Zulkarnain Zainuddin who will turn independent on the 1st of January, then completed the clean sweep with a 3-1 (11-5, 6-11, 11-6, 11-7) win over Soo Teck Zhi.

This resounding win made up for their opening day setback , 9-10 to hot favourites, Ampang Jaya Badminton Club (AJBC) and allowed them to stay in the hunt for the title after defending champion, Puchong United Badminton Club’s (PUBC’s) two consecutive wins.

In the earlier match, defending champions, PUBC achieved a clean sweep, winning all of their five matches 15-5 over Bukit Mertajam All Stars Badminton Club (BMASBC).PUBC opened accounts yesterday with a 13-8 demolition job over Tebrau City Badminton Club (TCBC).

PUBC scored their points through Goh Giap Chin (men’s singles), Ho Yen Mei (women’s singles), Ong Yew Sin-Teo Ee Yi (men’s doubles), Lim Khim Wah-Ng Tsz Yau (mixed doubles) and Lee Cheuk Yiu (men’s singles).