Klang Rising BC ride on Zi Ying’s strength to reach Grand Finals

PETALING JAYA: Lai Zi Ying showcased her versatility by steering Klang Rising BC to the top of Group B in the just-concluded region one competition of the Purple League Junior (PLJ).

The 18-year-old Selangor shuttler reigned supreme in all three events – girls’ singles, girls’ doubles and mixed doubles – winning all the eight matches she played over the two days of competition in Port Dickson last weekend.

Klang Rising BC topped the five-team contest that also comprised Bangi City BC, Kajang United BC, Sepang BC and Setapak BC to go into the Grand Finals as group champions while Bangi City followed suit as the group runners-up.

The other two teams making it to the Grand Finals in Putrajaya next month are the Seremban City BC and S2 All Star BC, the Group A winners and runners-up.

They finished ahead of Setia Alam BC and Sentul Time BC.

This year’s league is unique as it will be held in four locations with the next three regions being in Ipoh, Puchong and Muar.

The top four teams in each city will make up the 16-team line-up for the Grand Finals.

A total of RM100,000 in prize money is up for grabs with the top-three teams taking home RM10,000, RM8,000 and RM5,000 respectively.

Group A: Seremban City BC bt Setia Alam BC 11-9; Seremban City BC bt S2 All Star BC 11-7; Seremban City BC bt Sentul Times BC 14-3; S2 All Star BC bt Sentul Times BC 15-0; S2 All Star BC bt Setia Alam BC 13-6; Setia Alam BC bt Sentul Times BC 12-5.

Standings: 1. Seremban City BC, 2. S2 All Star BC, 3. Setia Alam BC, 4. Sentul Times BC.

Group B: Klang Rising BC bt Sepang BC 15-1; Klang Rising BC bt Kajang United BC 15-2; Klang Rising BC bt Setapak BC 15-0; Klang Rising BC bt Bangi City BC 13-6; Bangi City BC bt Setapak BC 15-0; Bangi City BC bt Sepang BC 14-4; Bangi City BC bt Kajang United BC 12-7; Kajang United BC bt Setapak BC 15-2 ; Kajang BC bt Sepang BC 15-1; Sepang BC bt Setapak BC 15-0.

Standings: 1. Klang Rising BC, 2. Bangi City BC, 3. Kajang United BC, 4. Sepang BC, 5. Setapak BC.

Start a Conversation